Borrow it x 2 – Black Moon (Zodiac #3) & Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1)

I’m back!

Work has settled down a ton which means the urge to read has started coming back. On top of that, I have several books on my Kindle that I’m genuinely looking forward to reading. I’m not going to commit how often I’m going to post, but when I do, I will be posting on Mondays just for sake of some kind of consistency.

That said, I’m going to start with two solid YA sci-fi/fantasy titles:

 

Black Moon is the third book of the Zodiac series, and Frost Blood is the first book in an upcoming new series. If you know how much I’ve loved the Zodiac series in the past, then you’d be shocked to find out that I actually kind of liked Frost Blood more.

I know right? Seriously?

Here’s the thing. I love the Zodiac series because in addition to some very deep world building, an intriguing plot, and a very strong heroine, Russell managed to (mostly) avoid the cliches of the genre. In Black Moon however, it’s like she’s making up for lost time. It feels like Rho spends the first half of the book mooning over the two legs of the love triangle and attending a freaking royal ball, complete with “what to wear” montage. It’s just like WHY damn it? It just felt so unnecessary! The book did finish strong, and I’ll certainly read the final book, but this was totally a stumble for me.

On the other hand, Frost Blood doesn’t pretend to be anything other than it is: a piece of YA fantasy that doesn’t push any boundaries. Our heroine is as fiery as her magic. The love interest has a tragic backstory and a twist regarding his true identity. There is a prophecy. There is an evil king. It’s all tied up in in a fairly neat bow of some solid world building. It’s not fresh, but it’s fun and someone who loves the genre will find this a fun book to cozy up to.

Now, I’d still go ahead and recommend both books to someone browsing the YA section, but both also feel a little bit forgettable. Not a great way to start my year, but not a bad one either!

Verdict: Borrow Both

Available: Black Moon is out now, Frostblood bows January 10th.

Leave a Reply

