#TVDChicago Mini-Update

Hello! I am alive! I even got two books read this week, so go me!

Anyway, the reason I’m posting something on a not-Friday is that I wanted to provide some updated thoughts to this review of Creation’s Vampire Diaries Convention. While I do think the bulk of the post remains relevant, there are some things I want to touch on and I thought a new post would be cleaner than cluttering up the old one.

First off, in a February 2016 update to the original post I recommend against signing-up at con for the next tour stop for reasons you can see there. Between what we’re seeing (Creation now announcing that this will be the last TVD Con in all cities except Chicago and New Jersey) and what the rumor mill is saying (that the two cons next year are the last stops ever) with the source of the rumor being someone in a position to know, it throws this whole “should I or shouldn’t I?” debate for a loop.

If your reason for going is strictly guests and you want to see new people, I’d say that advice still stands. Otherwise, if you want to go because there’s a good chance that it’ll be the last time you can, absolutely sign up. Personally, I didn’t expect to renew because I did find the line-up to be a bit of a bummer. That said, despite that and despite the fact that I don’t even really watch TVD anymore, I still had an absolute blast and so I signed up for 2017 for that reason. When it doubt, just open yourself up to making your mind at the convention itself and see how you feel.

Second, in my 2015 review I called the panels PG-PG-13. This year’s con was much more PG-13 (or, if you go by MPAA guidelines for swearing, R rated). The actors remained cognizant that there were kids around, but there was more swearing and more innuendo than there’s been in the past. Some of the guests were also definitely drinking at the convention. While always lucid, there was no hiding what they were doing either. I know my friends pretty much found it hysterical, but I can also see how some would find it offensive and it’s something to keep in mind if you’re bringing the kiddies around.

On the plus side, I suppose one of the nice things about having fewer guests is that for Chicago at least, the only double panel was Ian and Paul. I don’t think we really were hurt for it either, though having so many guests were double panels are necessary is a problem I kind of wish we’d had.

Finally, I do want to give a heads up about the concert: in 2015, it lasted until about midnight. This year, it didn’t quite last until 11:00. Some are saying that the hotel told them to end it early. I’m not quite sure what to believe (especially since karaoke went past 11:00 the night before) and I do hope it’s something fixed for upcoming shows, such as starting earlier if necessary. The concert is free for Gold and Silver, but knowing it may be short is something to keep in mind if you were considering paying the $30 as Copper or GA.

Personally, I think this is the most fun I’ve had at any of the shows, and I wrote a more personally-focused piece on that here and for all my quibbles, I really am glad I went back.

Long, long story short: if you’ve ever thought about going to any of their shows, just do it. It’s definitely something you should try at least once.

Leave a Reply

