Manners & Mutiny (Finish School #4) -Gail Carriger

24838415

Summary:

If one must flirt…flirt with danger.

Lessons in the art of espionage aboard Mademoiselle Geraldine’s floating dirigible have become tedious without Sophronia’s sweet sootie Soap nearby. She would much rather be using her skills to thwart the dastardly Picklemen, yet her concerns about their wicked intentions are ignored, and now she’s not sure whom to trust. What does the brusque werewolf dewan know? On whose side is the ever-stylish vampire Lord Akeldama? Only one thing is certain: a large-scale plot is under way, and when it comes to fruition, Sophronia must be ready to save her friends, her school, and all of London from disaster—in decidedly dramatic fashion, of course.

What will become of our proper young heroine when she puts her years of training to the test? Find out in this highly anticipated and thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Finishing School series!

Review:

Finishing this series is bittersweet. Without a question, I enjoyed one last romp with Sophronia. Without a question, I was ready for this to be the last romp and I’m not necessarily sad to see the series end.

Sophronia went full on Bond in this book and while fun, it cause me to side-eye the book a book: I enjoyed the social scenes much more, but I suppose it makes sense that this book was so action heavy: it was the last one and the dastardly plan of the Pickleman had to come to fruition.  Thankfully, the action wasn’t the sole focus. There were nice scenes between our heroine and Soap and I admire Carriger sticking to her guns about keeping them together, even while admitting that it was going to be an uphill battle.

Finally, all of Carriger’s stylistic hallmarks are here. I didn’t find them as annoying as I did in Prudence, which I attribute to having a greater emotional investment in the characters. That said, it doesn’t really make me want to give it another shot because there is an inherent level of absurdity in some of the narration and it’s just beyond what I’m willing to accept.

Ultimately, I’m still done with Carriger, but I am glad that I read – and finished – this series because I had fun, and if someone was going to give her a go for the first time, this would be where I’d suggest starting.

Verdict: Buy It – a fun end to a fun series.

Available Now.

Leave a Reply

