The Rogue Retrieval

25943838

Summary:

Sleight of hand…in another land.

Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time. What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real.

That’s how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it’s only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out.

Scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval. Fans of Terry Brooks and Terry Pratchett will find this a thrilling read.

Review:

You know, I think might be the favorite book that I’ve read from the Harper Voyager Impulse line. When I was trying to think of negatives about this book, about the worst thing I could thing of was “it doesn’t exactly break any new ground,” but that isn’t necessarily even a bad thing, if done well.

And honestly, it was.

The book knew exactly what it was: a story of contemporary, tech-forward humans traveling to a world that’s medieval in its technology to try and retrieve one of their own that went to this world and decided to not come back. And what’s impressive is that while you can figure out where the story is going in terms of their assignment, the story as a whole doesn’t go where you’d expect it to at all. It was a pleasant surprise. When you combine it with the likable characters, it makes for a fun, if basic read with an intriguing set-up for a possible sequel. All told, if you like the set up, pick this up. At $2.99, you can’t go wrong giving it a chance.

Verdict: Buy It

Available: January 19

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s