Stacking the Shelves #14

So that whole “I better slow down” thing I posted about in my last Stacking the Shelves post. Yeah. That didn’t work out terribly well. Funny how that happens when you’re a bookworm, but especially when you’re a blogger. I’m adding another 13 books to the 21 books of last month and yikes. My TBR pile is ballooning again! #firstworldproblems (of the best kind at that). At least I’ll be able to cross one book off my list shortly? That’s progress, right? 🙂

DRC provided by the publisher

There’s all kinds stuff in here, and that mix is what has me so excited. The Rogue Retrieval is contemporary urban fantasy. I decided to give contemporary YA another chance with You Were Here. Arena is dystopian sci-fi that takes professional gaming to extremes.  Magruder’s Curiosity Cabinet is a historical mystery, while Last Call at Nightshade Lounge is NA Fantasy – a new sub-genre for the new genre as a whole, while Kingfisher and In the Shadow of Gods are the closest things to “traditional” fantasy on this list. It’s a nice mix to keep things fresh!

Kindle book purchased by me

20748097

A dark, western fantasy. My last experience with this sub-genre was so-so, but the story sounded intriguing, it was recommended by a blog I trust and it was only $1.99! How could I not?

Physical book purchased by me

24838415

I said I meant to finish this series, and I meant it! I decided to pick up the UK paperback version, as it was about the same price as the Kindle version! Finishing the series is bittersweet. I liked what I’ve been reading, but I’m definitely burnt out on the author as a whole and I hope that doesn’t impact how I feel about this book when I do get to it.

Physical books received as gifts

All of these were gifts from my #otspsecretsister in my last box. She asked me what series I’d like to read, and this is what I asked for. I don’t think I actually expected to get all of them though, which is so cool! And the Brick Shakespeare looks like a fun book to flip through. I’m a LEGO fan, so this was a fun and thoughtful gift 🙂

And that’s it for now! Now let’s see if I can make a dent in this pile! What about you? Anything new on your shelves?

Leave a Reply

