Secret Life of a Book Blogger Questionnaire

Okay, so this is originally one of those “you do it because you were tagged” memes, but quite honestly, I’m pants at keeping track of this kind of stuff. Besides, it sounded like fun so why not? If you want to do it yourself, go for it 🙂 Link backs are nice, but not necessary since I didn’t actually tag anyone.

Secret Life of a Book Blogger Questionnaire!

How long have you been a blogger?

I started blogging in January of 2013, a few months after picking up a Kindle. I’ve always been a bit of a speedy reader and thought hey, if reviewing books means I can possibly pick up ARCs from sites like Net Galley, awesome. And I’ve been posting reviews every since.

And yes, I know you aren’t supposed to blog for free things (be they ARCs, make-up, nail polish or what have you) but I suspect that this is motivation for a lot of bloggers, even if they just don’t admit it.

At what point do you think you will stop?

When it ceases being fun and becomes too much like work. I don’t necessarily see that happening any time soon as in recent months I’m learning to embrace the fact that I won’t always have something to post, and that that is okay.

What is the best thing?

Broadening my reading horizons! I find myself more adventurous and more willing to tackle books I otherwise wouldn’t have given a second glance at. I’ve found some amazing new reads that way, which is always great.

What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?

All of the drama. So much drama.  I just try and stay out of it.

How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

Not long at all. I generally only use book covers which I either get from pubs, galley sites, or Goodreads!

Who is your book crush?

I don’t really have one. Okay. Wait. I have huge girl crushes on Phedre and Melisandre from Kushiel’s Dart. They’re awseome on their own, and their dynamic is entrancing.

What author would you like to have on your blog?

Jacqueline Carey, I think. It could be fun to pick her brain!

What do you wear when you write your blog posts?

Either work clothes or pajamas. I tend to write after work. Also, this is a creepy question.

How long does it take you to prepare?

Depends on the book, really. Books I feel passionately for (good or ill) I can bang out pretty quick. It’s the ones that I’m indifferent on that can take me an hour or more as I sort out how I really feel and why.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

Mixed. There are some awesome people to be sure, but it also feels kind of cliquish at times too. It’s really a lot of who you know, I think.

What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?

Read what you want to read. Write what you want to write.  BE HONEST. I’ve seen people admit to not being honest because they feared it hurt their chances at getting books from pubs. It honestly shouldn’t, because reputable publishers know that not all books are not for all people. If you critique a book without attacking the author, you’ll be fine 🙂

Leave a Reply

