Magonia (Magonia #1) – Maria Dahvana Headley – SPOILERS

21393526

Summary:

Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak—to live.

So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name.

Only her best friend, Jason, listens. Jason, who’s always been there. Jason, for whom she might have more-than-friendly feelings. But before Aza can consider that thrilling idea, something goes terribly wrong. Aza is lost to our world—and found, by another. Magonia.

Above the clouds, in a land of trading ships, Aza is not the weak and dying thing she was. In Magonia, she can breathe for the first time. Better, she has immense power—and as she navigates her new life, she discovers that war is coming. Magonia and Earth are on the cusp of a reckoning. And in Aza’s hands lies the fate of the whole of humanity—including the boy who loves her. Where do her loyalties lie?

Review:

As a general rule, I try to avoid spoilers in my reviews. However, I feel like to do this book justice I need to bust ’em out. So if you were planning on reading this for yourself and don’t want to be spoiled you might want to skip this one. As for how I feel, let me just say that the last time I broke out spoilers, it was for Allegiant and I despised that book. Just something to keep in mind if you’re trying to figure out why I’d do this.

So that being said, let’s get’s going.

Final warning. Don’t want to see spoilers, go elsewhere.

I did not like this book.

Okay. So I didn’t mind the first fifth or so, when it was a story about a girl named Aza dying of a mysterious disease and her friendship with Jason.

Then she died, and things got weird.

You see, Aza wasn’t actually human. She’s some kind of skin-walking human/bird…thing. And she’s blue. So basically: bird Na’vi. And the reason she was dying? The air by the surface was “drowning” her. Okay, fine, I’ll bite. But then there’s a bird that she swallows and lives with her in her chest and her chest can be opened so the bird can be taken out and what the actual fuck. Oh, said bird can communicate some how (telepathy? bird code?) and teachers her to sing so she can control the elements because of course she’s special since this is YA.

What in the actual fuck.

And by the way, they live in the sky and there used to be plants that lived in the sky until humans fucked it all up. And said plant is the key to the salvation of their people.

I almost quit right then and there.

Okay you say, but it’s fantasy! Suspend your disbelief!

Fine. I’ll ignore the fact that I don’t know how we all missed the sky-ships with all of our satellites I could if it weren’t for one small problem: Aza’s people are assholes.

For far too long people keep clucking at her about how she doesn’t know anything and that she’s an idiot. This is despite the fact that she never had a chance to learn, so why give her crap for that? And then there’s the fact that she spent 16 years on earth. She had family, she had friends – all of whom think she’s now dead (they even go over her funeral) and she’s just supposed to suck it up buttercup. Her biological mom even says “I don’t care who you love” at one people. Well fuck you too. This is less than a month into her new life. And don’t get me started on how the bird-girl only starts being nice to her once she’s starts being useful. Eff that shit.

I did not care about Magonia. I did not care about whatever grudges Aza’s biological mom had. There is nothing in this book that makes me think they deserved any help at all. Not one aspect of this society made me think it worthwhile or worth her aid. Just. No.

And I’ll be honest, whatever value there was in the friendship with Jason (and I did appreciate the friendship with Jason) got diminished by the approaching-John-Green levels of precociousness in his chapters down the road.

This book was a major letdown. I don’t even anyone I’d recommend to read this. Just read something else instead.

Verdict: Skip It

Available Now

Leave a Reply

