I Am The Traitor (Unknown Assassin #3)

23271231

Summary:

In the third and final installment in the Unknown Assassin trilogy, Boy Nobody is on the run from The Program and uncovers a secret about his past that forces him to decide where his loyalties lie.

The Program has sent Boy Nobody on countless missions, instructed to kill whichever target he was given. But now, after going rogue, he is on his own mission to rescue his friend Howard who was captured by The Program. Boy Nobody manages to free Howard as well as Tanya, a mysterious girl who was being held with him. Howard and Tanya help Boy Nobody collect information about his father, eventually revealing a dangerous secret that teaches Boy Nobody a valuable lesson — he can’t trust anyone.

Allen Zadoff packs the third book of the Unknown Assassin series with even more action, higher stakes, and mind-blowing reveals that will leave readers riveted.

Review:

As I was sitting down to write this review, I went back to look at the reviews I’d written of the first two books (which, for the record is why you’re seeing this here and not on Good Reads even though this is technically a thriller) and I can definitely say that my enthusiasm has waned a bit. I chalk up my initial eagerness to the fact that it was a) male lead and b) a thriller – two things that remain rare in YA. But as I got to this book, I realized that one of the central stylistic choices – that Zach never sounds like a teenager – doesn’t sit well with me any more. I noticed it first in I Am The Mission but it really hit home for me here. There’s talk of emotion and how this new chip would essentially “make him a robot” but in a way, he kinda already is. The only thing that stops Zach from feeling like Data is that he is able to make connections with humans – namely Howard (who first appeared in the last book) and Tanya, who is introduced here. But I almost think Jason Borne has more emotions and that isn’t necessarily a good thing.

Still, if you’ve made it this far, then I’m guessing that this choice doesn’t bother you, and on the action front, this book holds up well and the ending is, for the most part, mostly satisfying, though it wraps up in a way that maybe feels a little neat in the sense that he ends it before he has to deal with the consequences of said ending. Still, I am thankful that it is a closed-ending trilogy and that we do actually get resolution.

Overall, I think if you like the other two books, I think you’ll like this one as well. I just wish that our protagonist was more identifiably a young adult.

Verdict: Buy It

Available: Now

Leave a Reply

