Stacking the Shelves #5

Man, in the last few days of vacation, I started getting on a roll. I was so pleased with myself that I managed to schedule like two weeks worth of posts. So what did I do? Proceed to completely squander that build up. I hit a wall hard. I was going to start The Choosing only the very first page of the eARC revealed the book’s primary genre was Christian fiction, something I just do not read for personal reasons (and I would have never requested had it been so listed on Edelweiss). So then I started Uprooted by Naomi Novik. While I amused by the fact that the Dragon was a man this time around, something about it just wasn’t grabbing me and I set that aside. So then I decided to give Snow Like Ashes – a very well liked Young Adult title a look and sigh. The premise is very much suspension of disbelief to start, falls apart completely if you think about it at all, and when I skipped to the last page of the book discovered that yep, it’s main plot twist was a huge YA trope that I am utterly sick and tired of. I may well go back it at some point because I did get approved for Ice Like Fire (I requested it before starting Snow Like Ashes). I am working on two books right now that I think I’ll actually finish, but it’s probably going to take a few more days so why not a new round of Stacking the Shelves?

I have to say, I’m rather excited for the next month or two ahead!

 

23547364 18190208 20877669

eARCs with a 6/2 Publishing Date

Knight’s Shadow – Sequel to The Traitor’s Blade, a book that just barely didn’t make the cut of my Top 10 books of 2014. One of two books I’m reading right now, this promises more of what I liked about the first book: good characters, good action and good intrigue.

The Witch Hunter – Paranormal Young Adult. As far as Young Adult fantasy goes, I feel like the genre isn’t nearly as diverse in terms of kinds of stories told as it is on the adult side of the fence, so I’m always up for a look at something a little out of the norm.

The Singular & Extraordinary Tale of Mirror & Goliath – Steampunk paranormal fantasy mixes are a bit on the unusual side, a lot of people consider steampunk to be a form of science fiction, and generally speaking the technology does fill in for the magic of a world. It’s a mix that catches my eye and both the title and the cover are eye catching.

20643052 23168762 23271231

Additional eARCs

Ink and Bone (7/7) – This book had me at “The Great Library” to be honest. I love books where books play a key role – Libriomancer, Sabriel and so forth. I burned up almost all of my remaining points at Penguin’s First to Read program to grab this one. Also a YA fantasy that isn’t necessary a romance? Winning.

The Philosopher Kings (6/30) – I picked this up thinking it was an excerpt, but when I discovered it was instead the full copy and that has totally made my day. A trippy mix of science fiction and mythology, this is a sequel that at some point I’m going to make a point of picking up the first book and I have to say that even less than 20% in, I suspect this may make my Top 10 list of this year. This is the other book I’m currently reading.

I am the Traitor (6/9) – Young Adult thriller with a male lead. Totally not my normal thing, totally a series that I’ve loved. Looking forward to reading it!

17404295

Last eARC (for now)

Ice Like Fire (10/13) – Like I said, I only got about a hundred pages in to the first book. It’s not that the first book was bad, it’s just fits so squarely into the kind of YA fantasy that I’m not terribly fond of. I am optimistic that this would be the better of the two, because at least we get the more tropey aspects out of the way.

18081228 16085457 12799420

ARCs won in a blogger giveaway. All books are out now 🙂

The Orphan Queen – YA fantasy that doesn’t pretend to not be a romance. I’m hit and miss on Jodi, so I’m curious to see how I’ll feel about it.

Shadow Scale – I had issues with Seraphina, namely the way that the character seemed to engage in self-loathing that seemed way too neatly resolved within paragraphs at the end of the first book. The original premise was unique however, and I’m looking forward to giving it another chance.

Prudence – Carriger’s new adult series. Carriger is one of those authors that you hate or you love. I will say I’m a touch more fond of her Etiquette and Espionage series that’s YA right now, but I still think it’s going to be a fun read, even if only for more Lord Akeldama!

Phew! Lotta stuff to look forward to. What about you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

