Stacking the Shelves #4

I’ve been on a bit of a tear lately, absolutely devouring books at a crazy rate. Then I ran into a bit of a problem: I ran out of stuff I wanted to read that weren’t ARCs. Oh, I still have a decent number of books on my to-read list, but they just haven’t been calling me. So I decided to both slow down a little bit both for that reason and to avoid burnout. I also went on an excursion today to Illiad Bookshop to see what goodies I could dig up. I’ll share my spoils below, but I’ll just say that if you’re in the in the LA Area/SFV you owe it yourself to go check that place out: it’s the only used bookstore that I’ve been to that was both a) clean, spacious and well lit and b) had a fantastic selection of science-fiction/fantasy, which if oft neglected in these kinds of stores. I’ll definitely be checking it out again.

Anyway, as a result, I decided it made for a perfect time to do another Stacking the Shelves post. Some of these eARCs I’ve had on my Kindle for a while, but they somehow just didn’t make it in to the last post. With that said, let’s get started.

The Books I’ve Bought

CBN2x-JVAAA7fmT

$22 including tax, and 3 of the four are like-new condition. Deal of the day!

40223 40214 15771846 257333 40222

Kushiel’s Avatar (Kindle) and Kushiel’s Scion (Hardback) – Me finishing Phedre’s trilogy was only a matter of when, not if. I’d probably have waited on picking up Kushiel’s Scion (first of Imreal’s trilogy) except that when you find a new hardback for the same price as the Kindle edition, it just makes the hardback hard to pass up!

Mage’s Blood – This is one of those books that I kept picking up at the bookstore, then putting down, or looking at it on Amazon, but not hitting the click button. When I found the hardback at the bookstore (again for cheaper than what the Kindle version would go for), I decided it was finally time to just go for it.

The Golden Key – An absolute favorite when I read it back in like 1999 or 2000. The premise – using painting as a way to manipulate time and reality – remains one of the most clever conceits I’ve ever read and I picked it up because I want to re-read and see if it holds up as well as I think it will.

Banewreaker – I love the alternate Europe that Carey created in her Kushiel series, but wanted to see how she otherwise fared. Since then she’s dabbled in some other genres: some urban fantasy, some paranormal fantasy, and then this series which seems to stay within the realm of epic fantasy. Maybe one day I’ll get around to one of her other worlds.

Finished Copies Received from Publisher for Review

23278646

William Shakespeare’s The Phantom of Menace – yes, this is exactly what it sounds like it is: a retelling of Episode 1 in iambic pentameter. I’m currently reading it, so you’ll probably see a review sometime this week.

E-ARCs Received from Publisher for Review

23627067 22836665 22544764 21423991 18132923

The Choosing- Dystopian YA! One day I will find one that isn’t a complete rip off of The Hunger Games or Divergent

Desert Rising – Epic fantasy where priests bond with large cats. Count me in.

Uprooted – Naomi Novik moves beyond dragons a fairy-tale like world. Consider me curious.

The Waterborne Blade – Epic YA fantasy. I have some hopes for this one. I like stories about women coming into their own, so long as there’s a believable basis for it.

Ice Kissed – Paranormal YA fantasy. Something I haven’t seen much of, so I’m willing to give it a shot.

So how about you? Pick up anything new? Lemme know in comments below 🙂

Leave a Reply

