Stacking the Shelves #3

Hey, looks like this is kind of becoming a monthly thing, however inadvertently! I honestly gave thought to it today because it’s going to be several more days before I get anything else new up. I had to DNF a book, then right now I’m working on something for a blog tour that will post 3/13 (more later) and then I’ll hope to read something I can immediately post the review on. Phew! Anyway. Another month, another ten books added to my collection. Not entirely sure how that all happened with the whole trying to be more careful bit…and yet it did. Classic bookworm problems 😉

Received in Giveaway

22511892Inked – Instead of a Sorting Hat or a Choosing Ceremony, Ink decides your fate. The story about someone who upsets the system on the day he’s supposed to get his Ink doesn’t sound that original when you replace Ink with any other number of life-deciding moments, but still could be a fun read! You know I like to be surprised.

Purchased by Me

23208065  17347389 A Darker Shade final for Irene 18072204

Sin Eater’s Daughter – She touches you, you die. That’s just an undeniably cool premise. It is young adult, so there is going to be some romance in there, but this book was getting a lot of love from some fellow bloggers, and at a special$2.99 pre-order price for the Kindle version (now back up to $9), it fell into a definite “worth taking a chance on” category for me.

The Dream Thieves – This is the the book that wound up as a Did-Not-Finish for me a few days a go, unfortunately. The primary narrator shifted from Blue to Adam, and he’s just, well, bit too much of an emo boy for me to care about, and the supernatural plot was never the big draw for me. He may have legitimate reasons to act the way that he does, but that doesn’t necessarily make for a compelling read. Maybe one day I’ll go back and try it again.

A Darker Shade of Magic – I heart V.E. Schwab (aka Victoria Schawb – what’s the difference? V.E. are titles published on adult shelves, Victoria on young adult) and Vicious was my favorite book of 2013. I know I wasn’t the most excited coming out of the preview, but to be fair, the preview was all the world building. Looking forward to giving this a full go, finally!

A Dance in Blood Velvet – I enjoyed the first, I don’t have any other gothic vampire novels on my shelves right now, I had some free shipping from Amazon coming my way so figured I’d take advantage of it.

eARCs

23640554 22999188 25002838  22547942 23171408

The Curse Servant – The book I’m working on for the blog tour. I was very happy when I learned that this was actually in the works and so far, it’s holding up as the book I expected/wanted out of a sequel. The cover-art is a bit too invoking of Samara and other J-horror ghost girls (think Samara) for my taste, but I love the background art! (tour post – 3/13)

Dark Alchemy – Urban fantasy set in an town with an old-west past. Sounded like fun. (3/24)

Moonlands – A faery young adult story set in contemporary London. Cover was eye-catching enough, and again, sounded like fun (4/17)

Positive – Horror is a bit outside of my normal wheelhouse, but it’s always nice to mix things up once in a while, and it’s been a while since I’ve done so (4/21)

Briar Queen – Describes itself as “an intriguing blend of Twilight, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Alice in Wonderland, and A Midsummer Night’s Dream.” I almost have to read it to see if can live up to such a lofty claim (it probably can’t, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be good!) (6/2)

Phew! So what’s new on your shelf?

Leave a Reply

