2015 Stacking the Shelves #2

Howdy everyone! After I posted my brief Did-Not-Finish piece on Masters of Blood and Bone I tried to give Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton a go. It did not end well. But where I thought the former book had potential, and this one was just boring, I decided to not post about it. So then I was again on the hunt for something to read. That something is Son of the Morning by Mark Alder, and so far it is great. It is also nearly 800 pages long so it’s taking me some time. So, on that note, I figured, well, why not time for another Stacking the Shelves?

eARCs – all provided by the publishers

I really have been pretty good and haven’t been requesting a lot of books, but I have picked up some:

22571737  21965714  22926684

The Turnip Princess and other Newly Discovered Fairy Tales – just because I’m not a huge fan of fairytale retellings doesn’t mean I’m not a fan of the actual fairy tales. I look forward to giving this a shot

Flex – An urban fantasy where Flex is magic distilled into a drug in a universe that hates disruptions caused by magic. Consider me intrigued.

The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy – like it says on the tin: it’s meant as a introduction to all things geeky from fanfic to roleplay, conventions to cosplay. I’m a bit of a vet, but I still think this could be helpful to newbies (we all start somewhere, right?)

Books Purchased by Me

B84iLQnCAAEjbWr

The Originals: The Rise – The whole fangirling thing? I went to my first convention in 1998, it was for Xena: Warrior Princess. Since then I attended another Xena convention, multiple Comic Cons, Wonder Con a few times and most recently, Creation’s The Vampire Diaries convention. I bought this book both because I’m curious to see where they go with it and possibly with an eye to getting it signed at the con by a few of the actors. I haven’t decided yet. One thing I noticed: The book says “Created by Julie Plec,” but she’s not listed like an author on a title page, and even her introduction lists her as “Creator and Executive Producer.” Ghostwritten book, maybe? It wouldn’t surprise me. Anyway, still looking forward to reading this. Should be fun.

Snow Like Ashes – If you like to read, but can’t afford bookstore prices, one place to keep an eye on is Twitter. Bloggers often have more books than shelf space and will sometimes sell excess books to clear some space. I picked this up for $10 including shipping, a great deal because I get a basically new book and I help support another blogger! I picked it up because this was one of the favorites of the YA community last year, so I figure I’ll give it a shot.

Paladin of Souls – I visited an Antiquarian Book Fair yesterday. I could barely afford anything there (you know big dollars are there when books worth thousands are just out in reach of anyone), but I found this little gem. $15 for a pristine first edition signed by the author. Honestly, the beautiful cover grabbed me and the story – about a formerly mad, middle aged woman who goes on a pilgrimage because – sealed the deal. I’d bought this without the autograph. It’s just a lovely bonus 🙂

Book – contest giveaway

18079804

Half Bad – Another darling of the YA community in 2014, I won a copy in a giveaway. It was one of those books that sounded kind of intriguing, but I never got around purchasing. For free though? I’ll totally give it a chance.

Seven books and only bought 4. Not bad 😉 What about you? Pick up anything new?

Leave a Reply

