2015 Stacking the Shelves #1

Hey everyone!

First Stacking the Shelves of the year! Got a mix of physical books, e-books, and ARCs for ya 🙂

unnamed

First up is my Book Outet Boxing Day haul. This is only the second time I’ve bought with them. I have to say that it’s kinda underwhelming when your “scratch and dent” (Alloy of Law) is in better shape than the non-“scratch and dent” books (The Goblin Emperor came with a torn dust jacket. D: ) I also have to say I wish they were a bit more forthcoming with how their coupons worked. They promised you half off. What they GAVE you was an extra 20% off after the 30% off. That’s about 46% off, not a full 50% off. It’s sketchy to say the least and something to keep in mind, though the books are still a great deal. Anyway, in the stack we have:

Blackwatch – Jenna Burtenshaw
Dangerous Women – edited by GRRM & Gardner Dozois
Nil – Lynne Matson
The Alloy of Law (Mistborn #4) – Brandon Sanderson
The Goblin Emperor – Katherine Addison

I kinda of blew it, I didn’t realize that Blackwatch was the second in the series – I’ll probably try and find the first one at the library. I enjoyed Rogues so decided to give Dangerous Women a try. I’ll probably and handle it the way I did the last anthology and post every few days covering each book. I’ve been following Matson on Twitter for a while now, so decided to give Nil a try. The Alloy of Law is the first of the second Mistborn trilogy. I still have the other two to read first but it was too good a deal to pass up, especially since it follows a whole new cast of characters and could be read out of order. And finally, I got my hands on a physical copy of my number 2 book of 2014 The Goblin Emperor because it was that awesome.

 158399762261738847952

And here we have my new ebooks! Red Rising I finally gave in and grabbed it for $1.99. I’m still weary of the genre, but it has so much praise that at that price, it’s hard to pass up. Enchantress sounds like fairly traditional fantasy, but there’s always a place for that, if it’s well done. And finally, Sebastian was a gift from my #TBTBSanta from my wish list: I want to see how it stacks up against her Black Jewel and The Others series.

2386443420911450

And finally we have my new eARCs. Masters of Blood and Bone is dark fantasy, a sub-genre that I don’t look at often; perhaps this will give me cause to read more in it! Seeker intrigues me. It’s being touted as Game of Thrones meets Hunger Games. While it’s an advertising trick that I hate, it does intrigue me – it’s being touted as YA literature on NetGalley. Curious to see how it turns out. Both reviews will be out in February.

So that’s it! Not a few books though. I need to start working down my list. Ah, bookworm problems. 🙂

What have you picked up recently?

4 thoughts on “2015 Stacking the Shelves #1

  1. I bought all the latest Gollancz editions of Elric, need to go pick them up sometime this week 😀
    Also recently got approved for the next Star Wars EU book, Heir to the Jedi by Kevin Hearne. Planning to even more drastically step back my ARC input, so it’ll be an interesting year for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

