Stacking the Shelves (2 of 2!)

Tada! I said I’d write of two of these this week and I kept my word! I feel like I should get a cookie :p One of my goals for 2015 is to get better at this whole Stacking the Shelves thing. At one point I was going to try and catch up, but then I about broke down in tears when I saw how behind I was. So instead, I’ll focus on it going forward. I haven’t been getting as many books lately though, so maybe I’ll have a better chance of keeping my promise to myself!

So, without further ado, the other new additions to my library this week!

 

unnamed2

unnamed

So from left bottom to top we have Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen. For those not in the know, Clariel, which I adored was number four in the series. These are the first three. Claiming the books for himself is Vampire Bill while Eric and Pam look on 😉

These came from a signing at Mysterious Galaxy that I ordered. I would so love to get a chance to go there one day, but it’s down in San Diego. On a good day, it’s a three hour drive. On a bad day, it’s anywhere from 4-5 hour drive. Much like Children’s Book World, they’re an indie shop (this time with a genre focus) and they’re always having some fantastic signings going on. If you live in an area where authors don’t normally come on tour, but would like to get a hold of signed books, give them a look. They’re customer service is great too. They let me know (with a NOT auto-generated e-mail) when my book would ship, and when I never got an update, they responded quickly to my inquiry and got it fixed up. Good times. I would suggest that for best value to order a couple of books in one: there’s no discounted UPS here, and I strongly suggest UPS over USPS as the latter is shipped via media mail, and most people have media mail horror stories to share.

21407176

Conspicuously missing from this picture is a signed copy of Waistcoats and Weaponry. The reason I mentioned the good service above? Yeah. You can thank this one. Due to all the book publishing drama, the author graciously agreed to sign 500 copies for Barnes and Noble. I placed an order the same morning and know for a fact that Carriger did the signing a solid month in advance of the release date. Tuesday (aka book release date) comes around and I get no e-mail from Barnes and Noble. Wednesday all but passes too, when I get an e-mail stating that they won’t be able to ship the book in the stated time-frame from when I placed my order and that they don’t know when they’ll be able to ship it, but if it’s more than 30 days out they’ll be sure to let me know.

Uh. No.

Given that I had actually pre-ordered this on Kindle back in May (and forgot about it until I got an e-mail at 9:00 on Monday saying it was ready to download), I decided to cancel the order of the signed copy. As much as I love signed books (I loved signed books whose signatures I personally collected way more), I’ve heard horror stories that people have had with BN and I can’t stand it when a retalier as large as Barnes and Nobles plays games with you, the customer. And the thing was, I was going to keep the order and just get two copies because I will do that kind of thing when it’s author I like to support them. Oh well. One day she’ll make it out to a signing I can make and I’ll get it signed then 🙂

And finally, not a (full) book but about as exciting for me:

A Darker Shade final for Irene

A Darker Shade of Magic sampler. I legit flailed when Schawb announced it was up on Net Galley, and graciously, Tor seems to be pretty friendly with the approvals to. It isn’t Read Now, but to my knowledge I haven’t seen anyone get turned down for it yet either. Vicious was my favorite novel of 2013, and this is already on my list of most desired 2015 books.

So, that being said, here’s my tentative reading schedule:

  • Waistcoats and Weaponry – Gail Carriger (in progress)
  • Arcana – Jessica Leake [ARC]
  • A Darker Shade of Magic Sampler – V.E. Schwab (I have little self control, okay?)
  • The Young Elites – Marie Lu
  • Gods and Monsters: Mythbreaker – Stephen Blackmoore
  • Sabriel

Those last two are subject to be flipped, depending on timing.

So there we go! Huh. That went longer than expected. I shouldn’t be surprised by that that at this, point should I?

3 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (2 of 2!)

  1. I just bought the Old Kingdom trilogy from Amazon to re-read before I pick up Clariel and unfortunately the 2004 UK version of Lirael I received does not have the gorgeous runes like your copy. The other two do, but not Lirael. Which paperback version of the book did you buy? 2014? If you could check the copyright and let me know what it says I would be forever grateful! They sadly do not match and it is driving me nuts.

      • Thank you so much! The 2004 versions of Sabriel and Abhorsen are similar to the new designs but for some reason Lirael is not! Bizarre. Thanks again for helping solve the mystery! =)

Leave a Reply

