Movie Review: Guardians of the Galaxy

I went back and forth on whether to post a review, because it’s not really book based. But that said, it -is- science-ficiton/fantasy and amongst the seven (!!) previews, there were a couple relevant to our interests:

The Maze Runner – I wasn’t a huge fan of this book. One thing I didn’t mention in my initial review, though, was that I thought this book felt like a movie. It was very action heavy and story/characterization light – traits that work well (or at least better) on the screen than on the page. And I do have to say that the visuals will definitely help overcome the otherwise unexceptional story. It’ll be interesting to see how this one turns out.

Mockingjay Part 1 – less a trailer and more a tease, of Katniss promising to fight while looking rather-zombie like, broken from her experiences in the Arena. I’m still not sold on the fact that this needs to be two movies, but if nothing else, Catching Fire gives me hope that they will do as good a job cleaning up Mockingjay as they did the last book.

As for Guardians of the Galaxy itself, wow. What a nice surprise! Let me state now that I am not a Marvel fangirl. I haven’t seen most of the individual movies and found Thor boring. I didn’t mind The Avengers, but I thought it was a fairly empty popcorn flick. I didn’t buy them coming together and their saving earth felt more like an obligation, than something they legitimately wanted to do. Take away the banter and there wasn’t much else there, there. On the other hand, the Guardians felt like “Okay, you know, we’re jerks and we’ll probably die, but we’d be even bigger jerks if we didn’t try and stop them.” In other words, if I had to pay money to save my ass, I’d rather give it to the Guardians.

I also liked that all the Guardians had all their quirks. I loved Drax’s literalness, how Rocket really was secretly insecure about being a Raccoon, Quill’s Han Solo swagger and love of his magically-strong mix tape and Groot’s…Grootness. Gamora kicked lots of ass (and I do like how she was the major kick ass in the film) though I’d liked a little more personality on her.

This is one of those films where every few seconds I legitimately found myself chuckling. The film didn’t take itself too seriously, which was vital and worked well with a plot that can be summed up as a rather simplistic “magical object threatens galaxy; must be stopped.”

I saw this in 2D – and I have to say, I don’t feel like I missed anything by not seeing it in 3D or 3D-IMAX and you can safely skip it unless you genuinely love 3D.

Overall, this caught me by surprise in all the right ways. I may well end up seeing Avengers 2, but I’m actively looking forward to seeing Guardians of the Galaxy 2.

It’s a winner.

Verdict: Worth a full price ticket.

Next film: The Giver

Leave a Reply

