Stacking the Shelves: @FierceReads @BNEvents_Grove

It is (maybe) a universal truth that the phrase “the President is coming to town” doesn’t so much inspire awe in Los Angeles as much cursing and praying to the traffic gods that your commute isn’t too horribly impacted. Fun fact: when they close streets, the Secret Service never lets anyone know which specific ones are being closed, even after they are. You just have cross your fingers that if you go near the vicinity of the closures that miss it.  Last night was the first time I had to try my luck, and I lost.

Miserably.

It normally takes me an hour to get to the Grove from work when I leave at 4:00. It took an hour twenty this time. That extra twenty minutes was quite literally for the last mile of the drive. Let’s just say I wasn’t in the best mood when I got to the Grove.

My mood turned around pretty quickly though. MacMillan was kind enough to send ahead some ARCs and Fierce Read bags and the Grove gave them out to us early arrivals. You got a book or a bag. Most of us found the book an easy choice. I picked up Anne Aguirre’s Mortal Danger which I’ve seen getting a lot of buzz. I’ll admit that her other book haven’t piqued my interest (though I might well have given Enclave a shot afterwards because she was so fun to listen to) and so I hadn’t brought anything for her to sign. This completely my author set 🙂

Mortal DangerSee? Book! Yay 😀

So after that bit of good luck, they had given out more member wrist bands than had showed (come to think of I forgot to ask for the wristband they set aside for me. I blame the commute. Traffic makes me grumpy) so I moved from from the 5th row to the 3rd row. Woohoo!

The panel itself was an absolute hoot. I think one of the benefits of being a late stop in a multi-author book tour is that the authors have had time to get to know each other and get comfortable with each other. There was incredibly friendly vibe in the air as the authors teased each other (recurring joke: Anna Banks has a demon in her and therapy wouldn’t help Ann Agguire) and reacted absolutely naturally, with Leigh making some rather epic “WTF faces” at various points in the conversation. It was light, it was funny, and it made me glad I’d picked up both Mortal Danger and Of Poseidon. I will absolutely give the book of an author who wins me over with their personality a chance, even if it isn’t normally thing. The women were so rolling with it that there was only time for two audience questions, which were both good. Then it was time to sign. The Grove has their system down pat. It just does take a while because for the most part they let you chat up the authors as much as you like (assuming it’s reasonable) which is awesome 🙂

First up were Ann and Anna. Ann had a contest going to find infinity signs in the wild. I mentioned that I’d spotted one on a sign for STD testing, but that I decided it maaaaaaaaaay not have been appropriate for her audience. Anna was helping with suggestions on how to make it more appropriate. Heh.

Of Poseidon

Ruin and Rising

Next up was Leigh, who was the reason I wanted to attend in the first place. I have the first two Grisha books signed and had to get the third one signed as well. I took the time to admire her awesome manicure because when I saw the picture on tumblr I was so impressed! I kept my chat brief with her because I’ve been lucky enough to meet her before and there were a LOT of people there only for Leigh and wanted to do my bit to help move the line along. Before I moved on though, she did give me this:

Nail Polish

I all but squeed. I am a nail polish junkie with hundreds of bottles in my collection. When I found out that she had polishes made I all but made grabby hands at my computer. The picture makes the color look a bit brighter than it is in real life. It looks like a pretty classic red creme that is maybe the barest hint of vampiness to it. Lovely! Last up was Marissa:

Cinder

Okay, technically she was the last because she was the last tour author that was signing, but as it turns out the moderator Anthony Breznican had written a book as well. Our hostess was raving over the book and Stephen King had even provided the title burble. The back was filled with author quotes that were no less impressive so I decided to give it a go.

 Brutal Youth

I have to say that I spent several minutes chatting with him and it was a very enjoyable conversation. It sounds like it’s going to be a difficult read, but in the best kind of way. I might read this next!

So there you go! I headed out to the tour with two books to be signed and came home with five and a bottle of nail polish. Very much worth the nightmare traffic and I can’t wait to pick up some of my new books and give them a shot 🙂

Leave a Reply

