I may have issues with YA, but I still love it. #PromoteaYA

So it would figure that the same day I post my essay about how I wish fantasy YA would be more than what it currently is, some troll on Slate tries to tell me I should be embarrassed that I read YA.

Eff that nonsense.

In a day and age when so many forms of media compete for our attention, time and dollar, I think all reading should be praised, no matter whether your drug of choice is a “classic” or a bodice ripper. But instead of focusing on the hate, or giving the idiot more attention that he doesn’t deserve, I’ve decided to highlight YA novels that I’ve read within the last six months or so that I think deserve some love. Books are in order of when reviewed, most recent on top.

Vampire Academy – by Richelle Mead (review of Frost Bite and Shadow Kiss)

The Archived – by Victoria Schwab

Daughter of Smoke and Bone – by Liana Taylor

A Breath of Frost – by Alyxandra Harvey

The Casquette Girls – by Alys Arden

The Giver – by Lois Lowry

Dreamwalker – by C.S. Friedman

The Winner’s Curse – by Marie Rutkoski

The Long Way – by Michael Corbin Ray & Therese Vannier

No matter what you like to read though own it and enjoy it. At the end of the day as long as you enjoy what you’re reading, that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

