Meme Monday: TMI Tag!

It’s Monday, it must be Meme time. This one I picked up courtesy of @bookworm84 🙂

1. How old are you?: 32. Age is but a number, blah, blah, blah :p

2. What book are you reading?: As I’m writing this, Queen of the Dark Things by C. Robert Cargill

3. What are you wearing?: Old t-shirt and Hello Kitty pajama bottoms.

4. OTP (One True Pairing)?: I have one true bromances? Both in the strict friend sense (Bill/Eric) and in the actual familial sense (Damon/Stefan and Klaus/Eljiah). Bros before hos, yo.

5. Blogger or WordPress: WordPress. Haven’t tried Blogger, don’t intend to at this point.

6. Going outside being active or staying in and reading a book?: Staying in with a good book.

7. What is the last book you read?: Scala by Christina Bauer

8. What is the book you’re going to read next?:The Heresy Within by Rob Hayes

9. Ebooks – yes or no?: Yes. I resisted a long time, but I’m a full-on convert at this point. I like the lower price point, the greater access to ARC copies and more importantly, the amount of space saved. I almost never re-read books and I hate to get rid of them. With my Kindle, I can just store them in the cloud. Perfect J Oh, and I like the greater portability as well. I have a Paperwhite and it easily fits in my purse, making reading at work on break/lunch a breeze.

10. Where do you prefer to read?: Either in my bedroom, the comfy chair in the den or outside. Depends on time of day and weather.

11. The last person you tweeted?: @sembei I used to know her over on LJ and we just reconnected on Twitter!

12. Whose blog did you look at last?: <a href=http://www.temptalia.com>Temptalia</a>. She’s a make-up blogger. I have a make-up addiction that rivals my book addiction and I’m on her blog daily.

13. Who is your favourite blogger?: Temptalia. She has saved me a ton of money and her reviews are always very thoughtful and objective. I honestly prefer chatting with book bloggers more than reading their sites XD;;

14. Who is your favourite Book-Tuber: I’ve never watched anything on that site 😡

15. What do you do when someone tells you reading is boring?: No one has done that. And if they did, I’d Kanye shrug and say “Your loss.”

16. Who is the last author you spoke to?: Spoke to spoke to? Like in person? That’d be Marjorie Liu (The Iron Hunt). Twitter, Christina Baeur, I think.

17. Who is the last person you texted?: An RP friend. J We were discussing True Blood.

18. Who is your all-time favourite book character?: All-time all-time? I honestly don’t know so I abstain from this question. Hah.

19. UKYA or USYA?: Eh. I don’t pay attention to nationality of the authors I read. And really, my preference is actually adult fantasy over YA fantasy. I enjoy YA, but I get more out of adult.

20.  What is your preferred drink whilst reading?: I don’t usually keep drinks around me because I’m klutzy!

21. If you hated reading, what would you be doing instead?: Tooling around online.

22. How many bookshelves/bookcases do you have?: One of the 6′ shoe-box style book cases from Ikea.

23. If you had the choice to meet all of your favourite book bloggers or all of your favourite authors, which would you pick? You can only pick one.: Authors. I like picking brains.

24. Insta-love: Yes or no?: Fuck no. It’s unrealistic, it’s trite, and books that introduce it often focus on it to the detriment of more important things like say characterization or plot or world building.

25. Favourite author?: Crushing pretty damn hard on Leigh Bardugo (Grisha triology) right now for YA, Patrick Rothfuss for adult.

26. What is the number-one book on your wishlist?:Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo. Doors of Stone isn’t even finished yet, let alone have a publication date!

27. Do you prefer books with female or male protagonists?: This is a loaded question for me. YA fantasy is filled with female protagonists, but with rare exception (like Alina from the Grisha series) they’re often underdeveloped and/or spend too much time moping over which boy she loves for me to get involved. On the other hand, female protagonists are a bit rarer on the adult side so I don’t have as much experience with them. I’m going to go with male protagonists, because some of the best characters I’ve seen recently are, in fact male, but honestly I want interesting protagonists with likes and dislikes, strengths and weaknesses. Gender is a non-issue when the character is well drawn.

29. What is the last song you listened to?: “Let it Go” by The Piano Guys, which is actually mash up of “Let it Go” and “Winter” by Vivaldi. It’s gorgeous and the video is so lush!

30. Which do you enjoy reading more – negative reviews or positive reviews?: Negative reviews. I’ve been around on Good Reads long enough now to know that most people don’t really want to say bad things about a book. At most, they might be like “This was okay” or whatever. A negative review is more likely to give a better picture of the book. Plus I know what drives me crazy about a book and if I see my hot buttons in there, I may skip a book instead of picking it up and regretting it! Plus, people get damn funny when they get snarky because they’ve had their time wasted by a book.

31. Who are you going to tag?: Anyone who would like to do this!

Leave a Reply

