Stacking the Shelves

Hello again!

Look at me! I got another paperback 😀 I’m so proud.

 

661318

Summary:

The Secrets of the Shadow-MenMagic? It’s for the rich, the powerful…the Archmage and his elite wizards and cloud-masters.

Livak is not among them. She haunts the back taverns of the realm, careful to appear neither rich nor poor, neither tall nor short . . . neither man nor woman. Obscurity is her protection, thievery her livelihood, and gambling her weakness.

Alas, some bets are hard to resist. Particularly when they offer a chance to board a ship for Hadrumal, the fabled city of the Archmage. So Livak follows a minor wizard, Shiv, in an attempt to turn a rune or two, never dreaming that the stolen tankard she wants to sell contains the secrets of an ancient magic far more powerful, and infinitely darker, than any mortal mage’s spells.

Don’t worry. You aren’t having 90s flashbacks. This is a 90s fantasy novel, 1999 in fact. It’s why I bought it. I was out driving around doing errands and I stopped in a new-to-me strip mall to pick up some cash. While trying to leave, I turned the wrong direction. In trying to find a way out that wouldn’t result in an accident, I passed by a place called “The Used Bookstore.” Clever, eh? Figuring that it was some kind of fate to have made that mistake (instead of you know, carelessness and poor signage) I had to stop in and it was like walking into the 90s. Books were literally everywhere – on the shelves, in boxes on the floor, on the counter. The kind of store that likely violated all of the fire codes and if we had an earthquake (and given I live in LA this is a valid concern) you’d be buried by everything. I didn’t do too much digging because this is the kind of store the triggers my claustrophobia, but I felt like I wanted to pick up one thing.

As is the nature of these stores, there was almost nothing truly new in this store, so instead I wanted to go old school. I started reading fantasy in the mid-90s so I figured it’d be nice to go and take a look at what was probably pretty representative at the time. We’ll see how it pans out 🙂

Leave a Reply

