Meme: Book Blogger Confession!

I haven’t done one of these in a while, so why not? Seems like as good a Monday post as any 🙂

1. Which book, most recently, did you not finish?

If I remember correctly, I actually didn’t finish two books back to back: Afterparty by Daryl Gregory and Featherbound by Sarah Raughley. The former I didn’t finish because it simply Not My Book, the latter because the premise of human swans ticked me off because they only seemed to exist so the author could have a plot point of selling them into sexual slavery to use as a means to drive the plot forward. I genuinely do try to finish books, not finishing is generally a kind of last resort when I just can’t get through a title.

2. What book is your guilty pleasure?

The Selection books by Kiera Cass. For me, guilty pleasures are books that may not be the best quality, but they’re quick and enjoyable reads that you can use to escape at the beach or after a hard day. The Selection series is The Bachelor, set in a dystopian future, where the prize is getting to marry the Prince and become Queen. Doesn’t get much more guilty pleasure than that for me.

3. Which book do you love to hate?

Fifty Shades of Gray by E.L. James. If you throw out all the complaints that I (and people who have any knowledge about actual kinky sex practices done right) have about the sex scenes, after you take away those you’re left with an incredibly creepy book about a stalker where you have a girl with no self-esteem, a mother who is encouraging this incredibly unhealthy relationship instead of helping her daughter get a restraining order and a man who uses his past abuse as an excuse to be abusive himself. And yet people love it. I’m willing to be money that people who love this book found the song Blurred Lines to be creepy and that just depresses the hell out of me.

4. Which book would you throw into the sea?

Kiss the Dead by Laurell K. Hamilton. It was the last Anita Blake book I managed to force myself to read. I loved these books SO much in their early days – I started reading them back in like 1996. I kept sticking with the series, despite the decline in quality because I kept hoping for a resurgence of the author that got me hooked – and every so often we’d actually get a quality book (usually when Anita went out of town away from her beaus). And then this book happened. When she took a character I loved and for Reasons had him try and rape Anita, even though there was nothing in her character that would suggest he’d do such a thing, just so Anita could increase her Mary Sue status.  That is when I became DONE with these books once and for all. A friend loaned me a copy of Affliction and I literally couldn’t even make it past the first chapter before I put it down in disgust.

5. Which book have you read the most?

I don’t re-read books nowadays. I’ve never been one to do that very often, and these days I have so many other things to read that I don’t have the time. So I’m going to have to say I Hate, Hate, Hated This Movie and Your Movie Sucks by Roger Ebert. Both were collections of movie reviews that rated two stars or fewer. They are scathing and hysterical and if they were ever to put out a third compilation that covered everything after Your Movie Sucks I’d buy it in a heart beat.

6. Which book would you hate to receive as a present?

Twilight or Fifty Shades of Gray. Don’t want them (gave my copy of Fifty Shades of Gray away), don’t want to have to pretend to be thankful to have received them.

7. Which book could you not live without?

I don’t know that I have one of these, to be honest, because of the aforementioned “I don’t re-read books’ answer above.

8. Which book made you the angriest?

Allegiant, on so many levels. I pray I don’t see such an epic fail from another author any time soon. I count myself amongst those who pretend that it doesn’t exist.

9. Which book made you cry the most?

Books…don’t really make me cry, to be honest. I remember not being that moved by Cedric’s death in Goblet of Fire by holy hell that movie scene? Absolutely gutted me.

10.  Which book cover do you hate the most?

I’m not a huge fan of covers with photo-realistic people on them in general (non-fiction exempt), so picking Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers is a pretty easy choice. The His Fair Assassins series is excellent; but covers have always been their weak points. None are great, but these newest book, the protagonist looks like a Lord of the Rings cosplayer up against a badly photo-shopped background. They just look cheap and poorly done. For a series that was one of my favorite finds of 2013, I feel like the books just deserve better and I worry that some who might enjoy the books will give them a pass because the covers are blah.

Leave a Reply

