Stacking the Shelves: LA Times Festival of Books Edition

If you’ve followed me for any length of time, you know that I don’t normally participate in this meme. Truth be told, I simply haven’t been getting a lot of books recently, aside from ARCs. I’m still actually trying to clear out some of the books I got back in December! Aside from a book here and there (like the recently reviewed The Magicians) I simply haven’t picked up enough to feel like it was worth doing a whole post! But, as you can see by the title, this Sunday I hit up the Festival of Books and I kind of feel that if you go to an event like this and don’t pick up at least one book, you’re doing something wrong. So here’s my haul! When I’ll get around to read them, of course, is a whole different story ;). I’ve got one more Christmas book to read, and then I’ll be hitting the May arcs! May promises to be a great month with titles like The Falconer and The Immortal Crown coming out!

Enough with the ramble, on to the books!

 

18919275

Summary:

The dark is rising . . .

Detective Inspector James Quill is about to complete the drugs bust of his career. Then his prize suspect Rob Toshack is murdered in custody. Furious, Quill pursues the investigation, co-opting intelligence analyst Lisa Ross and undercover cops Costain and Sefton. But nothing about Toshack’s murder is normal. Toshack had struck a bargain with a vindictive entity, whose occult powers kept Toshack one step ahead of the law – until his luck ran out.

Now, the team must find a ‘suspect’ who can bend space and time and alter memory itself. And they will kill again. As the group starts to see London’s sinister magic for themselves, they have two choices: panic or use their new abilities. Then they must hunt a terrifying supernatural force the only way they know how: using police methods, equipment and tactics. But they must all learn the rules of this new game – and quickly. More than their lives will depend on it.

I don’t actually have any history with this series, but it sounded fun and it was a giveaway on the part of Mysterious Galaxy and Tor books! The table had several free titles, but I only took the one. I don’t believe in being greedy, especially when I already have so much on my plate!

13528340

848369012

Summary:

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages–not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers–beautiful, haunted Akiva–fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Surprise autographed copy! Laini Taylor had done a signing at the Mysterious Galaxy booth the day before and signed some extra copies and this happened to be one of them, it just wasn’t labeled as such! I first saw this book absolute ages ago – must have been late December 2012 or so, because I remember debating this and the book that I eventually picked up (and started my blog with, actually) City of Dark Magic. I’ve always meant to give this book a chance, and I have its sequel sitting in my Net Galley queue, so figured what better time? I look forward to this!

16034235848368897

Summary:

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world

This is the other “I heard about it ages ago, but never got around to reading it” book in this stack. I’ve picked it up a few times, but never bit, though I know a lot of people enjoy this series! She was at a panel this afternoon that also had Melissa Meyer and Leigh Bardugo on it! Lines for the signings at this panel were absolutely ridiculous and had I not stood in the autograph line (where I could hear the panel, even though I couldn’t see Leigh) I don’t think I would have made the final panel! One thing she did which I thought was a great idea was she had a copy of one of her books and she made you a deal – she’ll sign your copy if you sign hers. She must have hundreds of signatures in there! What a great memento 🙂

17349150848368844

Summary:

Screenwriter and acclaimed film critic C. Robert Cargill makes his fiction debut with Dreams and Shadows, taking beloved fantasy tropes, giving them a twist, and turning out a wonderful, witty, and wry take on clash between the fairy world and our own.

Something is missing from Ewan and Colby’s lives. Residing in the corners of their memories is their time in Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with magic and mystery, a world where only some may travel amongst the menagerie of mystical souls and sinister demons.

Cargill offers well-crafted characters and an absorbing, intricate plot that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Lev Grossman. Dreams and Shadows pulls you into an extraordinary universe of darkness that exposes the magic and monsters in our world, and in ourselves.

This is the other book that I more or less came cold into. The last panel I went to was all about adult Dark Fantasy. When I was reviewing the panelists, I thought the title sounded interesting so I figured I’d pick it up. I was able to chat with him for a few minutes too, which was great. This sounds right up my alley, so I can’t wait to get a chance to read it! The sequel is coming out in May as well.

And that was it for my Festival of Books adventures! The festival really did have a ridiculous line-up of authors between official panelists and those signing in booths. If you’re a bookish type and ever in So Cal in April, I recommend giving it a look!

2 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: LA Times Festival of Books Edition

  1. I’ve heard great things about London Falling and it is on my list to read. The event sounds very exciting. There are in your list I have had curiosity about – Daughter of Smoke and Bone I’ve been back and forth about whether I will read it. I will look forward to your review.

Leave a Reply

