Good Reads 60: Phoenix Island

Image

I hate writing reviews like this. I hate writing reviews where the book itself is well written, with a decent plot and some good characters, and yet I just can’t get behind the book.

Quiet bluntly, this is one of the most depressing books I’ve read in some times. It’s a book where the bad guys wins in every single sense of the word. Everyone who is even a half-way decent person ends up brutally killed (fast or slow), tortured into a catatonic state or gives up his life to serving the bad guy in an act of self-sacrifice that tries to have a note of hope that you don’t actually believe he’ll be able to reverse his fortune.

This isn’t a knock against the book, and I give the book credit. The book does not pull punches and given the set up we are given it all feels quiet real and quite believable. It’s just by the time I got to the end of the book I felt utterly drained.

This book is supposed to be the basis of a new show on CBS called Intelligence. If there’s any fidelity between the show and the book I’m passing on the show. Knowing where the book leads, I just won’t be able to bring myself to get involved.

A note for above: there is a lot of violence in this book. The worst of it is (thankfully) kept off-screen, but there’s still enough here that more squeamish readers might find this too much.

Verdict: Borrow it. Well written, but quite dark and might be too much for some readers to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

