Good Reads 62: Pawn by @aimee_carter

ImageThe last few weeks I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump. First I’d been between books, then I got sick and that kicked me out of any kind of mood to read. I was lacking motivation to pick up my Kindle again. But around twitter, a lot of the book bloggers I’d been following were buzzing about this book and my friend was like “you have to read this!”

And so I have.

It’s the quickest I’ve devoured a book in quite some time.

And making it even more worthy of praise? It’s a dystopian young-adult novel, a genre that has, without question, been growing stale in recent months as many of the books try to copy The Hunger Games or Divergent, the later of which was quite derivative itself.

The book is interesting because unlike most in the genre which like to have large rebellions that encompass the world, this book focuses on a very small internal struggle within the family at the height of power. We get an idea that there are hints of problems in the outside world and hints of the corruption that make the society not quite perfect (though to the authors credit, she does show that the system can work, that it’s not completely broken – a nice twist) but that isn’t the focus. Though the heroine does legitimately want that change, she’s not a natural at this. And I’m okay with that. It’s nice to have protagonists who can’t always take action, who are reactive rather than proactive. It makes them feel 17. One of my big issues with Divergant is that Tris went like feeling like she was 13 to 25 back to 14 again when the plot called for it. She never felt real, and Kitty does, even if some find her more at a distance or harder to relate to/root for than most YA heroines.

While I don’t think Pawn reinvented the wheel here (nor did she try), I think the author has accomplished an extremely fine example of the genre; and those who like YA or who like dystopian politics will really enjoy it.

Verdict: Buy it

P.S. A hundred points to Slytherin for lack of a true love triangle – the feeling Kitty develops make sense in the context of the plot, and that whole aspect is handled in a refreshing manner. If only more YA authors could follow suit.

Leave a Reply

