Question: Do You Blindly Read A New Series By A Favorite Author?

Question comes from Yummy Men and Kick Ass Chicks

Meh. I’ve been reading long enough that no author gets a 100% free pass. If an author starts on a new series I’ll definitely read the sample, or check it out in the bookstore, but I won’t automatically buy it just because, and that’s mainly for two reasons:

1a. Just because an author is good in one genre doesn’t mean they’re good in others. Authors who cross over well (like Brandon Sanderson) are incredibly rare.

1b. I’m pretty set in what I like to read genre-wise. I’ll occasionally dip my toes in other waters, but it’s pretty uncommon and just because I like the author doesn’t mean that they’ll win me over and I hate to waste $$ on a book that I won’t finish.

2. If the premise doesn’t grab me (or the genre) then the small things annoyances that I used to ignore now stare me in the face and that just isn’t fun.

Of course this presumes it is a genre switch. That doesn’t always happen, but it does happen quite a bit, especially authors with long established series.

So all that is a way of saying no, I guess šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

