Digital Comic: The Vampire Diaries – Vervain 2/3

TVD-Cover-tease

After a unexpected (or at least poorly communicated) delay in the schedule, The Vampire Diaries digital comic is back with Vervain part 2. Let’s take a look, shall we?

The first thing you’ll notice is that the cover art (and what would be the inner cover art in a traditional printed comic) is exactly the same as the previous issue, and I’m going to guess that it’ll be the same in the final issue. Some quick research shows that this seems to be standard practice for .99 comics – Batman ’66 apparently does the same. I guess something has to give at this price point. It’s not something that I’m going to hold back against the title, but I do love interesting cover art so it’s a tad bit of a disappointment. That’s about all I have to say about the art – it’s got some hits and some misses and it’s definitely a ‘your mileage may vary’ kind style that you’ll love or you’ll hate.

Storywise…

Ummm..

Yeah…

I’d like to say what you learned about our witchy friend, but I won’t because that more or less would spoil the only plot thread of the issue. The majority of the issue is devoted to a great chase through the Salvatore house. On the one hand, what you learn is kind of fun and they use the information in an interesting way. On the other hand, when you stop to think about it, it feels kinda lame. I’d honestly expected something bigger to be demanded in exchange for what he has done. The spirits have certainly shown themselves to be quite harsh in the past, and in this modern day setting his weaknesses don’t feel like such because I don’t know how many modern people will even get what they are referring to. Luckily, the Salvatores have been around long enough to be able to exploit this weakeness, and I’m sure it’ll come in handy down the road. I’m sure the information they discovered will be useful, but the issue still somehow felt unsatisfying, like time could have been devoted to something else instead (though don’t ask me what). Since it does contribute to plot, I won’t call it filler, but I don’t think it’s much of a step beyond that.

Clearly I’m still on the fence about this series. I want to like it, I am trying to like it and am keeping an open mind, but I’m just not convinced yet.

I’ll hang around next issue, and maybe through the next arc. If I’m not convinced by then…we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

