Good Reads #38: Tiger’s Curse

Image

My big gripe with Vampire Academy was that it felt like it didn’t really do anything unique or special. It was a high school drama with vampires. It was handled competently, but brought nothing new to the table.

I picked up Tiger’s Curse at the same time; the cover caught me eye and something about it made me not want to put it down, even as I wondered if I should get that third book knowing that I was to be getting in several books within another week or so from the library.

Turns out my gut was on to something, because this was a great book. It’s a simple set up: a 17 year, fresh-out-of-high-school girl takes a job at a circus and befriends the show’s tiger setting off a chain of events that wind up her going to India, coming face to face with a Goddess after making a temple run that Indiana Jones would be proud of. There’s also a nice romance that isn’t wince inducing.

All in all this is what I’m looking for when it comes to a fun read – enjoyable but different and a young adult novel that could be easily pushed in adult genre if the heroine had been a few years older.

If you’re looking for something different, check it out.

Verdict: Borrow it (if in paperback, buy it)

Leave a Reply

