Good Reads #34: The Gameboards of the Gods

Image

This is a difficult book for me to review. This is one of those novels where there are a lot of great parts, but I’m not sure that they come together cohesively.

All the parts of a good novel are here: the protagonists are interesting, the world building is interesting, the murder mystery is good, the parts about the Gods trying to find their way back are great but do they come together well? I’m not so sure that they do. Like, I honestly think that the books would have been better without the Gods trying to claim humans. I thought it kind of distracting. Also distracting was this notion that the Patricians – the aristocracy – are those that are “genetically pure” people who haven’t intermixed, despite the fact that it was the intermixing that saved humanity from the disease that nearly wiped them out. It does play into the story and they aren’t revered or anything, but it’s there. And kind of a disturbing notion. I don’t know. All I know is that it did serve as a low-level distraction for me and it might for others as well.

I think I’m going to check out the Vampire Academy series and see if this kind of thing works better there, but in the mean time I’d recommend borrowing it. The societal structure and the way that the male protagonist talks to what appear to be voices in his head maybe be off putting enough to give it a pass.

Verdict: Borrow it

Leave a Reply

