Good Reads #22: The Amaranth Enchantment

Title: The Amaranth Enchantment

Author: Julie Berry

Genre: Young Adult. Fantasy/Fairy tale

Amusing story: someone found my review of Illuminate on Good Reads. She disagreed with my assessment and apparently felt justified in telling me I was wrong because “I’m never happy anyway.” Someone should have told me that Good Reads was a blanket praise only site :p

Anyway. Clearly I digress. And I digressed for the simple purple that I just don’t have much to say about this book. It’s just unremarkable. A bland over with some questionable photoshopping on it; characters that don’t have much in the way of depth (kind of expected with the fairy-tale like feeling of the book) and the plot is just kind of there. It’s not an awful book, it’s just not a remarkable book. I picked it up while waiting for my other books to come in, and that’s about all it was good for.

Verdict: Don’t bother.

Leave a Reply

