Good Reads #19 – Beautiful Redemption

Title: Beautiful Redemption (Beautiful Creatures #4)

Author: Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Genre: Young Adult, Super Natural

I think I’ve pretty much said all that I can say about this series. There’s nothing in this book that is all that new or different or was lacking in the previous three books. If you’ve made it to the end by now you’ll probably be at least satisfied by this book. It was a solid effort, and in my mind, a definite improvement over Beautiful Chaos.

My usual issues remained: characterization was pretty thin again and there was some hand-waving in terms of the writing. For example, the impediment to protagonist’s relationship with his girlfriend is just…gone at the end. He doesn’t know why. His girlfriend doesn’t. His father doesn’t. No one knows, but because it gives us the ending we “want” we’re not supposed to care, just be happy for it. That to me, cheapens it a touch and it certainly lacks the impact of ending of Beautiful Chaos because it feels convenient.

I don’t mind that I’ve read these books, but I also think that checking these out from the library was the way to go: these books don’t have much in the way of re-read value and after the dismal performance of Beautiful Creatures, I think it’s safe to say we won’t be seeing another film.

You know how much you’ve enjoyed the other books to this point, let that be your guide as to how you go about obtaining this book. For me though, the answer is clear.

Verdict: Borrow It

(My final ranking of the series? Beautiful Darkness, Beautiful Creatures, Beautiful Redemption, and Beautiful Chaos)

Leave a Reply

