Good Reads #1: City of Dark Magic

I challenged myself to 20 books. We shall see what happens 😀

 

Title: City of Dark Magic

Author: Magnus Flyte

ISBN: 9780143122685

Rating: C

This is an odd duck of a book. Over on Good Reads I decided to talk about the book by breaking down the cover quote from Conan O’Brien because I couldn’t think of a better way to actually discuss the damn thing. It’s not really sci-fi. It isn’t really a romance novel. It’s a hodgepodge, a bit of everything.

The basic set up: Sarah Watson is a budding musicologist working on her doctorate when her mentor dies, allegedly by suicide. At the same time, she gets an offer to resume her mentors work at the palace in Prague which she takes for the money and to look into his death. Along the way she discovers that there’s a decidedly mystical/magical bent to the city and a mystery ensues.

It’s an imperfect novel: characters are flat, the supernatural elements are just kind of odd and don’t even make full sense – I don’t think I could even explain it and I didn’t care for the antagonist. And yet…it works. Someho. I’d read the sequel.

Ultimately, it feels like this was kind of a set-up novel: introducing the rules of the world and the main players so that it can go deeper into it at a later point. If it does become a series, I hope that that is the road that the author takes, because I do think the luster would fade fast if there is no change

I enjoyed it, but I don’t know that I can universally recommend it. A library read for sure. Or you might want to see if you can get a sample/read a few chapters in the store before buying.

One thought on “Good Reads #1: City of Dark Magic

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves | Fantasy Findings

Leave a Reply

